Food Intolerance Analysis
Eggs
Includes all poultry eggs, yolks and whites; as well as all products made from them or in which they are contained.
This also includes eggshell calcium supplements.
Commercial lecithin can be made from egg. Do not eat foods containing lecithin unless it is soy or sunflower/safflower lecithin.
Look for egg as an ingredient in: pastries, mayonnaise, most salad dressings, ice creams, noodles, candy and bread. At a restaurant, ask the waiter to inquire whether a sauce or dressing contains egg.
Egg albumin is often added to garden burgers. Read the labels.
Most “breaded” fried foods will have egg in the batter. You find this commonly in fish sticks, breaded chicken filets, chicken nuggets, fried fish, tempura vegetables.
Some progesterone creams and some types of lotions with contain egg as an emulsifier.
Egg whites are used to glaze breads, stick sesame seeds to hamburger buns and salt to pretzels. It is also used in many red wines to bind the tannins to make a smoother wine. It may or may not be labeled on the bottle. Avoid red wine unless you know it does not have egg in it.
Alternatives:
Substitutes in cooking can be soy lecithin, cornstarch, Knox gelatin and tofu.
A liquid soy lecithin is available which is inexpensive and mixes well for most cookie dough, cake batters, donuts, pancakes, or waffles.